You have ticked me off. GRILLING RANKA LEE.

sheryl_vs_ranka001

I consider myself a patient person. What with all the shit being thrown at me, I can take it very well without blowing my top off. But with some of the recent events that has happened in my life, you can only take soo much. Luckily, anime has always been my temporary escape from all the insanity. But man, I should really know better. Anime = more insanity. I open up my email to find it flooded with Ranka is awesome! Sheryl sucks! spam

WTF. Macross Fever still hasn’t died?!!

Basically its a few tl;dr rants about the magical beauty that is Ranka and why I, a Sheryl fan is a stupid retard to prefer the “big-boobed bimbo” over the sweet and innocent angel. They ask me why!  WHY?! Okay, I’ll tell you why…I have anger to burn and I’ll let it rage in pretty text.

BE WARNED. THIS IS NOT A RANKA-FRIENDLY POST. UNLESS YOU’RE A MASOCHIST, DON’T BOTHER.

No doubt, Ranka will be a part Macross history, but it doesn’t mean it will be in a favorable light. Believe it or not, I was rooting for Ranka in the earlier part of the series, I didn’t think much on Sheryl, as she was showing major negative-Minmay vibes that time. The date episode even sorta paralleled the one in DYRL! XDD

But as the series went on, Ranka’s lack of initiative was gnawing at me. I’ll take episode 10 for this case, I mean she mopes about how she didn’t know about Alto’s kabuki past but what does she do about it…NOTHING! XD Never even bothered to dig up any dish about her crush. All she could do was ask about Alto, his interest and hobbies but nooo….every conversation has to be about Ranka. By the time she shuts up about herself and asks something personal, it’s already late in the series! I mean, c’mon! O_O

Her ignorance is another thing as well. I mean, c’mon, how stupid can you get? Example for this is Ai-kun, if she had respected the Frontier laws, she’d have turned in Ai-kun and much disaster could have been avoided early on. But screw the rules, I’ll have meself a cute pet even if I don’t know what it is or why it isn’t listed or if it is dangerous. 8D

Her whining and spoiled me-me-me brat attitude didn’t help either (Her Ozma-abuse in ep. 4 screamed BRATZ!). Man, how self-centered can you get?

My favorite would have to be the parade. Okay, they give this all-out awesome parade for your honor and what do you do? Not show up for it! XDDDD Screw the fans, I’ll go find my pet because clearly it’s more important than all the little people who helped me become the next pop idol! XD LOL.
Her dependency. I shudder. They want to use your songs for a weapon? What is your decision? Look at Alto-kun and ask if I should go for it. Alto-kun said I should, so I shall! *Giggle* it will help me score brownie points with him as well, YAY! 8D
And if you can’t depend on Alto-kun because he broke your heart by just happening to be on the same roof with Sheryl, then depend on Kaifun Brera Sterne, extraordinaire! Oh and I don’t think I need to elaborate on her damsel-in-distress role. Help me!!!

Then here are the scenes that made Ranka sooo detestable:

It would have been interesting if Ranka turned out to be like her brother. XD

It would have been interesting if Ranka turned out to be like her brother. XD

Famous scene #1: Wow, Ranka. You sure couldn’t sing well when your heart was broken because your in-your-delusions-boyfriend Alto and Sheryl happened to be standing on the same roof but your song sure did save everyone even after Michel was gutted before your very eyes. As you sang Aimo for the nth time, all you could think about was your stupid heartbreak and how Alto didn’t hear your cutesy pop songs, never mind that Michel’s death happened only a few hours ago. 8D

Famous scene #2: They want you to sing a song of mourning and hope. What do you do? Run away! Why me?…she asks. Yes indeed, why her?

Famous scene #3: I’m going away to Vajra-land to help stop the stupid fighting. It doesn’t matter that I’m making this up as I go. But surely I’ll be fine as I have Kaifun Brera, my cyborg guy! And I’m sure Frontier will be okay even if it’s hanging by a thread and my songs are the only decent weapons right now. But I know what I’m doing! Besides, I need a break…especially after my heartbreak…sniff.

Famous scene #4: (Just had to add this) Come with me to Vajra-land Alto! Just you and me–and Ai-kun too! Don’t worry Ai-kun is good Vajra, kk? Never mind your feelings of hatred especially after seeing Michel, your buddy, get impaled by a Vajra. Forget your obligations to protect Frontier! Come with me! X3

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh Haruhi, I can’t breathe from laughing. Laughing There’s still plenty more to truck out but I unfortunately don’t have the time and luxury. University is a killer.

Okay, I’m being harsh. After all Ranka is just a little girl, as how her rabid fans will put it. But I certainly didn’t watch the show for the shoujo life of Ranka Lee. I watched it for the story…oh my VF. Ranka failed as a heroine. Talk about being consistent in being static, rofl.

Well not everyone is perfect. People make mistakes. But in anime and fiction, you can only tolerate so much before you throw in the towel. XD

Ah, I feel better now.

Oh and yes, to a certain cult of Rankanism…Congratulations! You have only fanned the flames of Ranka-hate to a whole new level. 8D

2 Responses to “You have ticked me off. GRILLING RANKA LEE.”


  1. 1 koi February 4, 2010 at 6:31 am

    wow totally agreed, ranka fans are crazy. then again what do you expect, with immature heroine like her of course her fans are immature as well. it’s okay mature people knows better than that. please keep up the sherylxalto fanfics, i love them!

    • 2 raile April 22, 2010 at 4:17 am

      There are sane Ranka fans, I’ll grant that. But MOST and I mean, MOST, of who’ve I’ve encountered are rabid fangirls who never should be given a keyboard. >.>
      I suspect most of them are from the tweenage or “teenage” majority, so yeah…

      Sigh. Ranka is a new kind of hatable character for me. =_=

      Oh and yeah, of course I’ll keep it up XD


Leave a Reply

